Katargam Election 2022: Can AAP’s Gopal Italia upset BJP’s arithmetic on this Surat suburb?



Katargam is without doubt one of the few constituencies to go to polls throughout Gujarat Elections 2022. It should be stored in thoughts that because it was carved out in 2012 following a delimitation train, the BJP has held its reins. As many as 89 seats will face the poll on December 1, whereas the remaining 93 of the 182 seats will go to the polls on December 5. Outcomes for Gujarat meeting elections will probably be declared on December 8. 

BJP that has been in energy in Katargam since 2012 had numerous claimants for the ticket. It will definitely picked Vinod Mordiya. Aam Aadmi Social gathering (AAP) fielded Gujarat state unit president Gopal Italia, and Congress fielded Kalpesh Variya. 

Katargam is a stronghold of the Patidar and Prajapati communities. Mordiya and Italia are Patidars, whereas Varia is a Prajapati – each communities are the dominant ones. There are 90,000 registered Patidar voters, whereas there are 75,000 Prajapati voters. The constituency within the suburbs of Surat additionally has many diamond sharpening items and textile looms, each of which rent numerous migrants. Katargam, therefore, additionally has a sizeable migrant neighborhood. 

The Prajapati neighborhood, reportedly, began mobilising final month because it aimed to get tickets from all events. In addition they organised an Ekta Yatra rally.

In the meantime, BJP doesn’t have a visual Prajapati chief in Surat, apart from Niranjan Janjmera. If the Patidar vote is cut up between AAP and BJP resulting from their candidates, Congress would stand. It stays to be seen if Italia will upset BJP’s calculation within the seat. 

Within the 2017 elections, of the two.77 lakh voters in Katargam, 1.25 lakh voted for Vinod Mordiya, whereas Congress’ Jignesh Jivani solely obtained 46,157 votes.

Katargam is without doubt one of the 16 seats in Surat. BJP had received 15 of them in 2017, whereas Congress had received just one. 

Additionally learn: Ghatlodia Election 2022: It is a battle of status for Gujarat CM Bhupendra Patel

Additionally learn: Gujarat Election 2022: Full checklist of 89 constituencies going to polls in Section-1

Source link